14 Runners Declared For First Ever RPM North Wales National Meeting

Published on 9 February 2023

Bangor-on-Dee is thrilled to be hosting the first ever RPM North Wales National Meeting on Friday 10 February.

The Class 4 Handicap Steeple Chase, over a distance of three miles and five furlongs, has 14 runners declared, including the hat-trick seeking The Questioner for trainers Oliver Greenall, Josh Guerriero and returning jockey Henry Brooke.

A recent winner at Ascot and then Doncaster over three miles, two furlongs, the son of Ask will be aiming to go further over this longer trip, despite a 6lb rise following that chase debut success.

Don Herbager, a winner over this distance at Bangor-on-Dee 12 months ago, goes again for Venetia Williams under the ride of Charlie Deutsch, while Bryony Frost continues on the Lucy Wadham trained Éclair De Guye, having finished second of six in a handicap chase at Catterick last month.

Brian Hughes has been confirmed to take the mount of Conquredalofeurope again for local trainer Donald McCain Jr, while Sean Quinlan rides Glittering Love for trainer Nicky Richards.

No Cruise Yet, the Sam England trained winner of a Class 3 Handicap Chase at Haydock in November, is amongst the others to be declared, with her husband Jonathan in the saddle.

Lucinda Russell enters Buddha Scheme and Camp Belan, ridden by Stephen Mulqueen and Derek Fox, respectively.

The third race on a card of seven, the RPM North Wales National gets underway from 2.20pm.

Patrick Chesters, General Manager of Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse, said:

“We are delighted to be introducing the newly-titled RPM North Wales National to our race card this year and look forward to a competitive race meeting.

“Our thanks also go to Regional Property Maintenance for their sponsorship of the event, which we hope is the start of a long and prosperous relationship surrounding this National.”

Declared Runners – RPM North Wales National Handicap Chase (Class 4) 3m 5f 142y:

  1. Skandiburg (FR) 9 12-0 T Charlotte Fuller J Gavin Sheehan
  2. Éclair De Goye (FR) 9 11-12 T Lucy Wadham J Bryony Frost
  3. Glittering Love (IRE) 11 11-11 T Nicky Richards J Sean Quinlan
  4. Conquredalofeurope (IRE) 8 11-11 T Donald McCain Jr J Brian Hughes
  5. Don Harbager (FR) 9 11-11 T Venetia Williams J Charlie Deutsch
  6. Beatthebullet (IRE) 9-11-9 T Rebecca Curtis J Ben Jones
  7. No Cruise Yet (GB) 8-11-9 T Sam England J Jonathan England
  8. Buddha Scheme (IRE) 9-11-8 T Lucinda Russell J Stephen Mulqueen
  9. Camp Belan (IRE) 7-11-7 T Lucinda Russell J Derek Fox
  10. The Questioner (IRE) 7-11-0 T Oliver Greenall & Josh Guerriero J Henry Brooke
  11. Morozov Cocktail (IRE) 7-10-11 T Tim Easterby J William Easterby
  12. Bretney (IRE) 8-10-9 T Henry Daly J Tom O’Brien
  13. Event of Sivola (FR) 9-10-9 T Mark Walford J Jamie Hamilton
  14. Loch Garman Aris (IRE) 13-10-2 T Gary Hanmer J Tabitha Worsley

Tickets for The RPM North Wales National Meeting remain available from £7 for Open Course, or £19 for the Paddock Enclosure. Admission prices on the day are £12 for Open Course or £22 for the Paddock Enclosure.

To purchase tickets, please click here

Online ticket transactions are subject to a £0.75 web sale booking fee, per transaction. 

Sign up to our newsletter

If you would like to receive news and information about events, products and special offers from Bangor-On-Dee Racecourse, please enter your email address and you will be signed up to our mailing list for future communications.