Established on 25 February 1859, Bangor on Dee is a left handed jumps racecourse set in glorious countryside and overlooked by the Welsh hills. Bangor has a unique character, amplified by the fact that it is the only racecourse in the country that doesn’t have a grandstand! The first steeplechase meeting took place at Bangor on 25th February 1859 over much the same course as that on which the races are held today.
Today, many of the top trainers send their horses to race at Bangor as part of their education. Paul Nicholls, Donald McCain, Alan King, Phillip Hobbs, Nicky Henderson and Jonjo O’Neill all have regular runners.
Recognised as a leader in its field, Chester Race Company consistently pushes boundaries to ensure the racecourse product delivers the optimum experience and opportunities for visiting owners, trainers, jockeys and the general public. Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse has been awarded the Gold Standard Award by the Racehorse Owners Association (ROA).
A timeline depicting some of the key moments from Bangor’s illustrious history was created in 2019 to celebrate 160 years of racing. The Timeline is on display in the Wynnstay building (accessible to anyone with Paddock Enclosure Admission) and the Paddock building (accessible to Paddock Restaurant and Annual Badge holders only).
Click here to view the timeline of Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse’s history.